After the last two bumber weeks of exhibitions, it’s a much a quieter week fashion-wise but there’s a couple of not-to-missed exhibitions. Zuri by Zainab is exhibiting their winter pret, semi-formals and formals while Elan is having their annual sale. Elsewhere, there’s stand-up comedy and live theatre around town along with book readings and more – that is if you can find time between all the weddings and GTs happening these days in Karachi!

Zuri by Zainab Fawad

Zuri by Zainab Fawad

Zuri by Zainab Fawad is known for pure fabrics, elegant embellishment and feminine ensembles. Check out their winter collection of pret, formals and semi-formals on Tuesday.

Date:  Tuesday, November 27th
Time:  12pm-5pm

Venue:  House Number 79/2, 9th Street of Khayaban e Sehar, Phase 6, Near Shahbaz Commercial, DHA, Karachi

 

Amber Masood Bedding

Looking for luxe bedspreads for the perfect finishing touch to your bedroom decor? Check out the wide variety of exquisite bedcover sets and bedsheets at Amber Masood’s exhibition this Friday. With a sophisticated palette and super soft fabric, Amber’s luxurious bedding will help you create the perfect retreat. She also has cushions and runners with intricate handwork and beautiful appliqué – affordable and chic.

Date: Friday November 23rd
Time: 11am-6pm
Venue: 35-H/1, Block 6, PECHS, Karachi

Elan Sale

Rev up your engines ladies and get ready to shop till you drop. Élan’s End of season sale is starting from the 23rd of November. Discounts of upto 50% off on selected stock online at www.elan.pk and in-stores at Maison Élan – Karachi and Galleria- Lahore.

Date:     23rd – 26th November
Venue:   Maison Élan, 24 Old Clifton, Karachi

Time: 11am – 9pm

Jannat and Sadaf at Ensemble

Jannat And Sadaf are bringing their latest luxury formals to #EnsembleKarachi on 22nd November 2018.
Make sure to visit and grab your fave numbers for this #FestiveSeason! Call on +923012210653 or +923452764393 for any inquiries ☎️

Date:     22nd November
Venue:   Ensemble, C-32 E-Street, Clifton, Karachi

Time:   11am – 9pm

CARAVAN Luxe Indian Edit at Ensemble

Dream bridal lehngas, formal joras and traditional jewellery available at Caravan: Luxe Indian Edit by #EnsemblePakistan, Happening Now at Ensemble Karachi! Drop by and get your hands on must-have Indian clothes and jewellery for the Festive Season. Call on +923012210653 or +923452764393 for any inquiries ☎️

Date:     Ongoing
Venue:   Ensemble, C-32 E-Street, Clifton, Karachi

Time:   11am – 9pm

Sadiqa Awab Jewelled Bags

Sadiqa Awab Exhibits her latest collection 2018/19 of Jewelled clutch bags – elegant minaudieres with luxe crystals.  For further info whatsapp on:- 0321-8296788
Date:      Saturday 24th November
Venue:    F-20 Block 4 Clifton
Time:        12-6pm

 

Nizam’s Contemporary Jewellery by Ahmed Haroon Khan

Ahmed Haroon Khan exhibits a wonderful collection of jewellery at Koel. Inspired by Nizam’s Contemporary collection, the jewellery is exquisitely made in silver and 24 karat gold.

Date:      26th – 27th November
Venue:    Koel Cafe
Time:        11:30 am – 8:30 pm

Unplugged Improv with LOLWaalay

If you were to tie the knot with long-form improv via arranged marriage, here is how a rishta aunty would describe it:

‘Long-form improvisation is an unscripted performance of anywhere between 20-90 minutes based off a single audience suggestion. Common elements include monologues, games and series of inter-connected scenes. Long form is much closer to theatre than short form. The final product often appears to be an improvised play. According to a popular improv director, long form is to jazz as short form is to pop’.
What an insightful and eloquent rishta aunty.

Come watch LOLWaalay unplugged and friends next Thursday at The Second Floor! Tickets Rs. 300 available at the venue. Gates open at 7 45 PM. Show starts at 8 PM.

Dungeons and Dragons: Special tribute to Stan Lee

Table-top role-playing is an experience that provides you with an immersive fantasy world to interact with, to become an elven bard unleashing the ballads that tame the most ferocious of dragons, or a Captain of a Starship exchanging quantum phaser fire with the evil galactic empire or Caped Crusaders averting a cosmic threat befalling earth.

And all this is limited by nothing but your imagination. If you can imagine it you can play it.

Table-Top role-playing is also therapeutic, provides a fun social interactive way to get rid of stress, and being a collaborative group activity allows you to push your boundaries with team skills, public speaking, collaborative storytelling and most important make friends.
Spark the creativity that has been lying dormant in your mind, unleash the inner hero. Your Journey starts now.

Date: Thursday, 22nd November 2018
Time: 06:30 PM – 08:30 PM
Place: T2F Cafe
Registration: Rs.350/-

*For registration and inquiry please leave us a message on Daastan Geeky or call 0333-2288224*

**We have capacity for only 12 people, slots will be registered on a first come first served basis*

Keh Har Khuwaish Pe Dum Nikle: A Comedy Theatre Play

A roller coaster ride of relationships, psychoanalysis and dream interpretation.
Venue: MAD School Zamzama
Dates: 23rd – 25th November 2018
Time: 8:30 PM
Tickets available at MAD School Zamzama.

Book Reading: [A]typically Tanya by Taha Kehar

In the vein of Moni Mohsin and Saba Imtiaz, ‘Typically Tanya’ is a story from modern-day Pakistan about a headstrong woman with equal parts sass and smarts. There’s a little bit of Tanya in all of us, and it’s mostly the part we supress.

Author and journalist Taha Kehar talks about the feisty, unconventional protagonist of his new book, ‘Typically Tanya’ (published in September by HarperCollins India). Tanya, who is far from typical, a journalist in Karachi, she is sharply critical, fiercely intelligent and unusually bold. How did this character come about?

Join us at T2F on November 28 at 7pm with the author himself, to know more about this character.

About the Author:
Taha Kehar is a Karachi-based journalist. He’s written for both Indian and Pakistani magazines, newspapers and publications. He’s the author of an earlier novel titled Of rift and rivalry. Typically Tanya is Taha’s second work of fiction.

For more information about ‘Typically Tanya’ please do read the link below: https://harperbroadcast.com/2018/09/12/a-young-feisty-modern-romance-by-taha-kehar/

Date: Wednesday, 28th November 2018
Time: 07:00 PM – 09:00 PM
Place: Faraar Gallery, The Second Floor (T2F)
Entry: Free; It’s Your Donations that keep us going!

Mangal Madness – Comedy Showcase!

After jungle mein mangal we bring you MANGAL MADNESS! A weekly stand-up comedy showcase bringing together the best comedians in Karachi every Tuesday at the MAD School!

We promise to make your boring Tuesdays exciting! Ham ap ki office ki thakawat door kardenge! All you have to do is show up and let us do the work AND provide you with some extra goodies as well!

Twelfth edition this Tuesday the 27th of November. Gates open at 8 15 P.M, show starts at 8 30. Tickets are Rs. 400 each available at the venue.

While the content is generally family friendly, we recommend viewing by ages 13 and above.

Jaun by Fringe Karachi Repertory

Join us at T2F on 23rd and 24th November at 8pm for a theatrical performance of ‘Jaun by Fringe Karachi Repertory’. The event is not a recital, it is a theatrical performance based on the works of Jaun with a narrative weaved somewhere between impressionist and abstracted frameworks. It is adapted for performance by Zohair Raza collaborating with Hammad Khan, Sehrish, Aqeel Ahmed, Najma Kifayat and Adnan Jaffar.

The play has a classical narrative structure but instead of the events, it is designed over Kaifiyaat and as a result the following synopsis do not have an orthodox explanation of events and motivations but still this play contain characters which have an arc to their transformation based on the three act structure.

Jaun was everything but what the masses have decided who he was: a depressed joker who writes word play on his ex-lover. Jaun Elia, born into a family of learned men, was immensely inspired by his father, Allama Syyed Shafiq Hasan Elia, who was a polymath. Yet, he resented or at times feared this immense thirst for knowledge. He was aware of the fact that his father, who was interested in astronomy and philosophy, among other things, had a regular correspondence with Greenwich observatory and with the famous Bertrand Russell. He was also aware of the fact that his fathers household expenses were bared by his elder uncle. Jaun knew that the path to knowledge is the path to financial failure but still he chose this path on his own accord. Unlike what we have perceived of Jaun as a wandering carefree alcoholic or distressed genius, he was trying to give his fathers lifelong love affair with knowledge a closure. He was trying to fulfil his promise he made to his dying father that he will publish his multi-lingual and multi-subjective works. Most of his life, Jaun refrained from publishing his own works because of the aforementioned promise. Upon publishing his first book, he didn’t feel guilt but defeat; because, despite his numerous efforts, no one was willing to publish books for which there was no audience left alive.

In this play, we have tried to give it a closure, although a tragic one, it tries to shy away from the popular poetry of Jaun and find a narrative in some other ones in which we don’t see Jaun the performer, but Jaun the introspect. He was an optimist who eventually lost all hope and believed that his talents were wasted. But what it was that he considered as talent? To find this answer we turned our attentions to farnood, his collection of essays and prose and discovered that he was a philosopher modernist of subcontinent. At times, he seemed more comprehensible than Mullah Sadra and more courageous and inclusive than Iqbal since for Jaun, religion was secondary. From there, we were redirected to his poetry and eventually to a conclusive answer. He was a philosopher, but his talents were in the manner with which he communicated his ideas and struggles with the populace he considered as repeaters or Goonj of what is not their own; who were snobbishly obsessed with writing research on Chacha Ghalib in Firangi Zaban , the boozna who won a tree full of apples by mimicking human and lost at the same time.

Shaayar to bas do hain, mir taqi aur mir jaun
Baqi jo hain Shaam o saher khairiyat say hain

About the Group:
Fringe Karachi repertory is a collective of theatre graduates and practitioners. Our objective is to step away from conventional theatre practices and explore new narrative treatments with a focus on, eventually, developing original content.

Dates: Friday, 23rd November 2018 & Saturday, 24th November 2018
Place: Faraar Gallery, T2F
Time: 08:00 PM – 09:00 PM
Entry: Rs. 300/- (Available at Venue)

*Gates open at 07:30PM*

 

Author

Salima Feerasta is chief editor of Karachista.com and one of Pakistan's top fashion and lifestyle journalists.

Write A Comment